It feels good…

30 06 2007

Last week, one of my former supervisors buzzed me on YM. After the usual exchange of pleasantries, the tone became more business-like.

He informed me that the organization was thinking of opening up a new department and that they needed people, specifically a Project Manager and a Software Architect. He then told me that he had offered another former colleague the Software Architect position while he wanted me to be the Project Manager.

I must say that the offer was really tempting. I have always been interested in Project Management and have, in fact, read numerous articles and books on it. Unfortunately, they need someone to start by September this year and I will still be in Austin by then plus I have another year to go because of the contract I signed.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am having fun in my current job. The people are wonderful, the work is interesting and the perks are not bad. It was just a wonderful feeling to be considered by someone you worked with previously (it somehow tells me that I did a pretty good job before, good enough to have name recall at least.) and, of course, it’s a better position than what I currently hold.

As expected, the offer went to naught but, hey, at least it made my day.

Actions

Information

One response

9 07 2007
HyperAxe

Don’t worry, just continue to do good with your work and opportunities like this would just pour onto you along the way. Trust me on this! Been there, done that. 😉

Good luck bro! 🙂

Leave a Reply

