Respect The Game

14 10 2010

With neither team leading by more than 5 points, it was a really close game. One could feel the intensity at both benches, with both fans and players cheering and jeering. The coaches were shouting at their players, some instructions, some profanities borne out of frustration.

Soon enough, in the last quarter, the pressure got on the players on the hard court. Words or,as we call it, trash talk were exchanged. From exchanging words, it turned a little more physical and ugly. Tough D was mistaken for rough play and soon, tempers flew and so did elbows… from which whistles blew and technical fouls were given.

Unfortunately, this lead to the fifth fouls to one of our opposing players, their second top-scorer. It didn’t matter though as their top scorer was just scoring at will and was able to keep the game close. However, with a couple of minutes left, another whistle blew and their top-scorer was out of the game.

Our fans roared and so did our players… but it was a little bitter-sweet for me. I wanted to win, and this sudden turn of events really increased our chances, but I did not want the easy way out. It made me doubt if we really deserved to win this..

But, when the final buzzer sounded, it was then that I realized that we were worthy of it and we truly deserved it… To be more precise, it was then that I realized that our opponents were NOT worth of it and did NOT deserve to win. You see, the majority of the opponents refused to exchange pleasantries after the game. I even tried to go up to one of them (if the Celtic’s had Big Baby Davis, this team had Cry Baby Davis) in the locker room and he refused to take my hand shake. What a Wuss!

I have never seen such display of unsportsmanlike conduct. And it was certainly a shock for me to see it from a group of individuals who are supposed to share the common core values of Integrity and One Global Network.  It makes me wonder if there are more of these sore losers out there. If there are, I would seriously re-assess if this is an activity worth having.


Some might question why someone, who cusses at his players and talks trash to opposing players, would have the nerve to write about sportsmanship. My only response is, “Yes, I am passionate and I get crazy during the games… but once that final buzzer rings, I respect the game enough to respect my opponents.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 10 2010
neil

it is what it is… just like Le’fucking’Bron

11 01 2011
2010 in review « A PARADoXiCaL LiFE

[…] The busiest day of the year was October 14th with 101 views. The most popular post that day was Respect The Game. […]

Leave a Reply

